The newly reconstituted Economic Development Advisory Council (EDAC) met on Thursday morning, May 30, 2013.

EDAC in Action

EDAC at May 30 Meeting

The meeting started with Council Chair Howard Males defining the Mission of EDAC and inviting introductions from those in attendance. Mr. Males emphasized President Preckwinkle’s pro-growth economic agenda, and that EDAC work to pursue regional cooperation around economic issues. He referred to the the report “Partnering for Prosperity – An Economic Growth Agenda for Cook County” released on April 4, 2013, by President Preckwinkle and the Council of Economic Advisors.

Herman Brewer, Bureau Chief, Cook County Bureau of Economic Development also made remarks. He spoke about other economic initiatives launched since President Preckwinkle took office. They include: creation of the Land Bank Advisory Council, Chicago-Cook Workforce Partnership, creation of the HOME Consortium, and rethinking Cook County property tax incentives along with developing new ones, and the $30 million HUD 108 Loan Program to name a few.

The Council then decided that due to the amount of work at hand, they would attempt to meet more than quarterly.

The Council also reviewed the application for a Class 7b Property Tax incentive submitted by UGP Schiller Park, LLC for the development of a $19 million parking facility that is slated to create more than 120 temporary and permanent jobs. After comments and review, the application was approved.

Members of the newly reconstituted Economic Development Advisory Council (EDAC) are:

Howard Males, CEO (Chair)

Research Pros, Inc


Ms. Pam McDonough, President (Vice Chair)

Alliance for Illinois Manufacturing


Mr. Herman Brewer, Bureau Chief

Cook County Bureau of Economic Development


Lynn Cutler, Senior Advisor

Holland and Knight


Joseph Flanagan, Chairman and CEO

Acquirent, LLC  


Mr. Graham C. Grady, Partner

K& L Gates, LLP


Wesley J. Lujan, Director Public Affairs Corp. Relations

Union Pacific Railroad


Mr. Andrew Mooney, Commissioner

City of Chicago

Department of Housing and Economic Development


Ms. Karin Norington-Reaves, Director

Chicago Cook Workforce Partnership


Mr. Ed Paesel, Executive Director

South Suburban Mayors and Managers


Mr. Richard Pellegrino, Executive Director

West Central Municipal Conference


CJ Rog, Government Affairs Manager

Mi-Jack Products


Mr. Edward Sitar, Economic Development Manager

Commonwealth Edison – an Exelon Company


Ms. Victoria Smith, Executive Director

Southwest Conference of Mayors

Go to  for more information about economic development in Cook County.